Paris 1919


20130219-091010.jpg

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26348.Paris_1919

Read
My rating:

Paris 1919: Six Months That Changed the World
by Margaret MacMillan, Richard Holbrooke (Foreword)
4.01 · rating details · 2,897 ratings · 236 reviews
National Bestseller

New York Times Editors’ Choice

Winner of the PEN Hessell Tiltman Prize

Winner of the Duff Cooper Prize

Silver Medalist for the Arthur Ross Book Award
of the Council on Foreign Relations

Finalist for the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award

For six months in 1919, after the end of “the war to end all wars,” the Big Three—President Woodrow Wilson, British prime minis…more
Paperback, 570 pages
Published September 9th 2003 by Random House Trade Paperbacks (first published September 6th 2001)
more details…edit details
Get a copy:Barnes & Nobleonline stores ▼LibrariesMore…
editMy Review
Feb 19, 2013
rating
bookshelves read
edit shelves
format Paperback (edit)
review add a review

comment
edit review
Friend Reviews
recommend this book None of your friends have reviewed this book yet.
Lists with This Book

Best History Books
17th out of 846 books — 672 voters

Books about the year 1919
1st out of 74 books — 14 voters

More lists with this book…
Community Reviews
(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter | sort: default (?) | rating details

Dec 21, 2008 Trevor rated it · review of another edition
Shelves: history
Do you know what I hate? I hate it when I find out that something I have known for years and years is not actually true. As a case in point, take the Treaty of Versailles. I hadn’t really thought about it all that much, but if asked I would have said that it would have most likely come out of a peace conference and that peace conference would have been held at Versailles. I know, I can be terribly literal at times. I also would have guessed that the conference might have lasted a few days, maybe…more
like 13 likes · 9 comments · see review

Jan 29, 2009 Eric Althoff rated it
A fascinating history lesson for buffs or novices alike, “Paris 1919” recounts–in always interesting but sometimes overly exposed detail–the Paris Peace Conference and how it shaped the broken European landscape (and indeed, much of the world) after The War to End All Wars. By turns fascinating and flustering–knowing what we know now–MacMillan skillfully creates a narrative from cold, hard facts and brings the personalities of the American, French, British and various other politicos who tri…more

About Commish Greg

I have had a life long love affair with the New York Yankees and baseball period. In my retirement I've discovered the hobby of sports game simulation through online gaming. I also have collected cards and memorabilia since I was 7 years old in 1961. I inherited from my uncle the collections starting from 1956 - 1960 and in 1961 I started my own collecting. I started an online league through Out Of The Park Development and their game OOTP16. The name of the league is the Alternate History Baseball League and it began in the 1954 baseball season when I and fifteen others held an inaugural draft and began the AHBL league in earnest. In my blog I will review the AHBL league and also mix some pop culture and historic events from real life. I hope you enjoy !
This entry was posted in Books, Non Fiction, Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

