The New Republicans


20121108-233154.jpg

The New Republican

As the Republican Party is in the middle of evaluating what went wrong with half of America rejecting Mitt Romney to be their next president, many within the party are critical of its neoconservative evolution of the past twenty years. There is a growing number within, and outside the Republican Party, who are calling for a more libertarian agenda to win the White House in 2016.

It was Ronald Reagan who in 1975 said, “I believe the very heart and soul of conservatism is libertarianism,” yet the Republican Party has soundly rejected libertarianism in favor of promoting and voting for anti-libertarian policies. During his campaign and once president, Reagan gave libertarian speeches, however his administration policies became anti-libertarian and took on a neoconservative agenda.

I believe and have for a very long time, in many ways the country is becoming more libertarian Americans are saying, ‘Stay out of my wallet, stay out of my bedroom.’ Be like Jeb Bush, like Ronald Reagan. Libertarian Republicans stand for, a fiscal conservative, social moderate, just right of center and where the country lives.

There is growing demand and support to nominate Republican Kentucky Senator Rand Paul for the 2016 presidential election, who seems to be libertarian-leaning like his father Ron Paul. While in the U.S. Senate, Rand Paul has been able to win over the ‘establishment’ Republicans and has a different style in Washington than that of his father.

We need to embrace liberty and libertarianism.

About Commish Greg

I have had a life long love affair with the New York Yankees and baseball period. In my retirement I've discovered the hobby of sports game simulation through online gaming. I also have collected cards and memorabilia since I was 7 years old in 1961. I inherited from my uncle the collections starting from 1956 - 1960 and in 1961 I started my own collecting. I started an online league through Out Of The Park Development and their game OOTP16. The name of the league is the Alternate History Baseball League and it began in the 1954 baseball season when I and fifteen others held an inaugural draft and began the AHBL league in earnest. In my blog I will review the AHBL league and also mix some pop culture and historic events from real life. I hope you enjoy !
This entry was posted in Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

