My 1% Effect


20120525-103412.jpg

Now adays we hear alot about the 1%, but I wonder if we have ever really considered who the most influential 1% of Americans truly are. I’m talking about the people who will wield the significant power to sway the election for the presidency in 2012.

Allow me to explain what i mean : There are 5 or 6 states that will decide the next President. I mean we all know that Obama will win New York or California with no problem and likewise Romney will carry the South and the farm states. Realistically we are looking at Virginia, Florida, Ohio, Colorado and Nevada deciding the next election and that means that just 10% of American voters will decide the next President. I will soon be moving to Carson City, Nevada. With the sophisticated polling that we have avialable we can determine in fact that just 10% of the 10 % or 1 % of the voting population of these states will determine the next President.

In 1960 it all came down to Illinois as we found out after the fact that Kennedy taking Illinois swung the election allowing him to beat Nixon. In 2000 it was Florida’s turn to thrill the nation and impact history as it all came down to the hanging Chads and punch card ballots of Florida as George Bush defeated Al Gore in a most historic way after losing the popular vote. In 2012 it most assuredly will come down to a similar situation except unlike 1960 and 2000 we are now sophisticated enough to make the projection before the actual election in order to predict with some degree of certainty who will emerge as the winner.

Using a very complex method of algorythms and computer generated modeling I have determined that it will come down as follows. Obama will carry Colorado while Romney will edge him out in Virginia, Florida and Ohio and that means that the election will come down to Nevada and her 6 votes to determine the next President in what will be another very close and transformative election. In fact the election in Nevada will boil down to a very close race that may well be decided not in Las Vegas or reno which will lean heavy toward Obama or the rural and more sedate state that is Nevada that will go for Romney. No it will come down to Carson City where 24,000 votes will be cast that will be split right down the middle. This will result in 1 % of those voters or 240 people to decide our next president and that is real power.

So since my vote in Rochester New York really doesn’t mean anything I am relocating to Carson City in order to register to vote where I can have real impact on this important election. Finally I can become a part of this 1% that will truly change history.

20120525-103249.jpg

About Commish Greg

I have had a life long love affair with the New York Yankees and baseball period. In my retirement I've discovered the hobby of sports game simulation through online gaming. I also have collected cards and memorabilia since I was 7 years old in 1961. I inherited from my uncle the collections starting from 1956 - 1960 and in 1961 I started my own collecting. I started an online league through Out Of The Park Development and their game OOTP16. The name of the league is the Alternate History Baseball League and it began in the 1954 baseball season when I and fifteen others held an inaugural draft and began the AHBL league in earnest. In my blog I will review the AHBL league and also mix some pop culture and historic events from real life. I hope you enjoy !
This entry was posted in Alternate History, Humor, Opinion, Parody, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 1% Effect

  1. List of X says:

    I hope you don’t forget to vote then 🙂

What do you think?

